Zappar and Quiver: Augmented Reality

This this week for class we were assigned to use the app Zappar. To best explain Zappar, is to compare it to Snapchat, except it is Snapchat on steroids. While using Zappar I came across some interesting images to zap! Because that is what you do when you want to add an image. However, the apps has its pros and its cons. So let’s get to breaking this app down pros were being able to zap characters and artists like The Annoying Orange and Britney Spears, but before zapping them the cons were having to search for the images on Google. Before I had decided to use the zaps that I did I had wanted to use Stevie Griffin from Family Guy and his father Peter. Unfortunately, I was unable to find them and I had settled for Britney and Orange. Zappar also has a zap stache where you can zap on mustache as long as you printed it out and stuck it your face. Also, the quality on androids are not the best. Below are how they looked like from an Android phone.

The good news is that businesses, schools, or people like myself can make zap codes. Where any user with the Zappar app can zap a code and see multiple widgets, videos and even current events that would be occurring. Thus, using the zap code for a University like Bridgeport would be ideal because it is simple to use. Below is my zap code.

Finally there was Quiver, Quiver is an app that require you to download and print images and then color the images that were printed. The app would then animate the image into 3D. There as required free images and images you could pay for but for this I chose two free images and they were from the Quiver options. So the pictures I chose were Ruby Rabbit and Valentine’s Day. Quiver is also like Zappar when an Android is being used. When you film your image it very dim but it was still enjoyable. Below are the videos.

Published by Kay Muñoz

Afro-Peruvian, SPU Graduate, and Communication and Political Science Major

Leave a comment